Does ownCloud allow the use of S3 as an interface?

Ask all your questions regarding OC 8.0 and 8.1 Please read the Support Forum Rules
Forum rules
The forums were migrated over to https://central.owncloud.org which is based on the forum software Discourse. The forums here is put into read-only mode starting from today.

More background information about this move and the reasoning behind it is available in this blogpost:

https://daniel.molkentin.net/2016/07/20 ... d-central/
HarryStine
ownCloud version: 8.1.5

Does ownCloud allow the use of S3 as an interface?

Postby HarryStine » Wed Apr 06, 2016 12:44 am

Hello.

I apologize if these are naive questions. I am very new to ownCloud and storage concepts, in general.

I am trying to find out what my options are for writing a client application that performs CRUD operations with a remote ownCloud server.

From what I gathered in the documentation WebDav and OCS are two APIs that owncloud uses, though I am not yet sure if one or both is good for CRUD or if one or both is simply a management api or something different.

Also, I have a requirement to find out if it is possible to use Amazon S3 to communicate with ownCloud. I am aware that ownCloud is capable of using S3 for external storage, but what I am trying to find out is if something similar to the reverse is possible, that is if we could perform CRUD operations on ownCloud while interfacing with it through an S3 implementation. For example, if this was true we might be able to have both AWS-S3 as external storage and as an interface which would look something like the following:

client->S3->ownCloud->S3

Where the client could use an S3 client library to make a call to get an object, which would get passed to ownCloud and then to the Amazon cloud where the object would located and send back.

Is this possible?

Thank you for your time and any assistance that can be provided.

tflidd
Forum Moderator
ownCloud version: 8.2.3
Webserver: Apache
Database: MySQL